Bishop Gorman (NV) Wins 2014 BBC Championship

Bishop Gorman (NV) won the 2014 Beach Ball Classic Championship with a 71-39 victory over Franklin (OH) on Wednesday night at the Myrtle Beach (SC) Convention Center.

Bishop Gorman (13-3; Las Vegas, NV), which also won the 2009 BBC, joins three other programs as multiple-time winners of the Beach Ball Classic.  Archbishop Molloy (NY) and DeMatha Catholic have each won the tournament four times while Simon Gratz (PA) has won the tourney twice.

Bishop Gorman led from buzzer to buzzer and built leads as large as 28 points in winning this David vs. Goliath match-up at the Beach Ball Classic.  Chase Jeter, who will play at Duke, led the Gaels with 18 points and 12 rebounds.  Ugo Amadi added 17 points for Bishop Gorman.

Franklin (8-1)was led by Luke Kennard’s 17 points.  Kennard, who will join Jeter at Duke, set the Beach Ball Classic’s four-game scoring record with 147 points.

Click Here for Box Score


Most Outstanding Player: Luke Kennard, Franklin (OH)
Most Valuable Player: Stephen Zimmerman, Bishop Gorman (NV)
Keith Lane Sportsmanship Award: Evan Hall, Knott County (KY)
Hustle Award: Kipper Nichols, St. Edward (OH)
Danny Defensive Award: Jacque Brown, East Carteret (NC)

All Tournament Team (all players above are also All-Tournament):
* Jalek Felton, Mullins (SC)
* Prince Ali, Sagemont (FL)
* Craig Randall, Shadow Mountain (AZ)
* P.J. Dozier, Spring Valley (SC)
* Malik Beasley, St. Francis (GA)
* Seth Towns, Northland (OH)
* Chase Jeter, Bishop Gorman (NV)
* Evan Crowe, Franklin (OH)
* Luke Maye, Hough (MC)
* Camron Justice, Knott County Central (KY)

Team Sportsmanship Award: East Carteret (NC)
Team Hustle Award: Sagemont (FL)