Beach Ball Classic Scholarship Winners Announced

The Beach Ball Classic presented over $10,000 in college scholarships to ten area athletes at the 30th annual scholarship banquet held recently at the Myrtle Beach Train Depot.

The scholarships were awarded to student athletes within the Horry County School System who have excelled both academically and athletically during their high school careers.

“Our scholarship program helps these students tremendously, and would not be possible without the generosity of Mike Wooten and his team at DDC Engineers,” said John Rhodes, the tournament’s Executive Director.

While normally one scholarship is awarded to a senior representing each of Horry County’s high schools, 2014 marked a special occasion as an additional scholarship was added in honor of the late Keith Lane, a well-respected coach and former member of the Beach Ball Classic Committee who, according to Rhodes, “was instrumental in its success.”

“The Beach Ball Classic not only provides a venue to showcase gifted athletes, it has also become a hallmark event for sports tourism.  The Beach Ball Classic shares its success with our community by helping support the educational goals of Horry County Schools’ students. Since 1984, the Beach Ball Classic has provided over $400,000 in scholarships to more than 350 students representing each of our high schools.  These scholarships recognize students who set high expectations for their own performance, both athletically and in the classroom,” said Dr. Cindy Elsberry, Superintendent of Horry County Schools.

Now in its 34th year, the Beach Ball Classic is hailed as the nation’s premier high school sporting event. Attracting talent that has included Kobe Bryant, Raymond Felton, and Jason Kidd, it has launched the careers of countless NBA stars. Named South Carolina’s Most Outstanding Tourism Event in 2003, the tournament has entertained over one million fans since its move to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center from Socastee High School in 1994.

This year’s scholarship winners, along with the schools they represent and their college choices, are listed below.

2014 Beach Ball Classic Scholarship Winners


Skyler Ethan Roberts Aynor High School Wofford College
Samantha Schoerer Carolina Forest High School Coker College
Samuel Winburn Hall Conway High School Newberry College
Matthew Logan Brown Green Sea Floyds Coastal Carolina University
Kayla Makenzie Todd Loris High School Coastal Carolina University
Noble Graham Vaughn Myrtle Beach High School University of South Carolina
Lukas James Gschwandtner North Myrtle Beach High Duke
Rachel Rose Hall Socastee High School USC or Clemson
AnnaMarie Haines Guest* Socastee High School Furman
Joseph Anthony Larkin St. James High School Clemson


*awarded in honor of Keith Lane