Providence (FL) Takes 2013 BBC Crown

Providence (FL) scored the first 12 points of the second half and cruised to a 69-43 victory over Northland (OH) to capture the 2013 Beach Ball Classic Championship.

In the opening half, the teams battled to a pair of ties and four lead changes.  Providence (10-3) opened a 7-2 lead in the opening 2:02, capped by a Grayson Allen 3-point basket.  Northland (7-2) used a 13-3 run midway through the first half to open a 20-12 advantage with 9:10 on the clock.  The momentum then went back to the side of the Providence squad as the Stallions responded with a 14-5 run that gave them the lead at 26-25 when Kedar Bryant’s layup capped the run with 1:49 to play.  The teams swapped baskets in the final minute and Providence took a 29-27 into halftime.

The Stallions put the game out of reach quickly in the second 16-minute half by scoring the first 12 points in just 4:28.  Northland missed it first six shots of the second half and finally stopped the Providence run on Derek McKeithen’s old-fashioned three-point play with 11:11 remaining in the contest.  Providence went on to lead by as many as 26 points the rest of the way.

Allen, who has signed to play at Duke, was named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player as he led all scorers with 26 points.  Christian Terrell and Wyatt Walker were also honored as All-Tournament selections.  Terrell tallied 16 points while Walker posted a double-double with 11 points and 12 rebounds.

Northland’s Shemar Waugh scored 14 points and garnered the 2013 Beach Ball Classic’s Individual Hustle Award.  Seth Towns chipped in 13 points for the Vikings and won the tourney’s Individual Sportsmanship Award.

[Box Score]


Champion: Providence (FL)
Runner-up: Northland (OH)
Third Place: Bishop Loughlin (NY)
Fourth Place: Madison Memorial (WI)
Fifth Place: Moeller (OH)
Consolation Bracket Champion: Norcross (GA)

Most Valuable Player: Grayson Allen, Providence (FL)
Most Outstanding Player: Luke Maye, Hough (NC)

All-Tournament Team:
* Khadeen, Carrington, Bishop Loughlin (NY)
* Romelo Trimble, Bishop O’Connell (VA)
* Russell Sangster, Bullis (MD)
* Luke Kennard, Franklin (OH)
* Darral Willis, Madison Memorial (WI)
* Grant Benzinger, Moeller (OH)
* Solomon Cooper, Myrtle Beach (SC)
* AJ Bush, Norcross (GA)
* Christian Terrell, Providence (FL)
* Wyatt Walker, Providence (FL)

Individual Sportsmanship Award: Seth Towns, Northland (OH)
Individual Hustle Award: Shemar Waugh, Northland (OH)
Danny Defensive Award: Alterique Gilbert, Miller Grove (GA)
Team Hustle Award: Norcross (GA)
Team Sportsmanship Award: Franklin (OH)