Milton Captures 2011 BBC Championship

In its first-ever trip to the Beach Ball Classic, Milton scored a 70-42 win over Lone Peak to capture the 2011 Championship.

Milton (9-4; Milton, GA) took the lead for good with 5:35 to play in the opening half and went on to open leads as large as 28 points.  Lone Peak (8-2; Highland, UT) connected on just two 3-point baskets the entre game and shot just 33.3 percent from the field.

Evan Nolte, the BBC’s Most Valuable Player, led Milton with 20 points.  Shaquille Johnson added 19 points on 8-of-11 shooting for the Eagles.

Nick Emery led Lone Peak with 21 points and scored a four-game tournament record 119 points.  Emery’s total broke the previous mark of 114 points set by Chris Wright of St. John’s (D.C.) in 2006.  Emery also set the Beach Ball Classic’s four-game record for made free throws with 33, breaking Darius Washington’s (Edgewater, FL) record of 32 set in 2003.

Box Score

Most Valuable Player: Evan Nolte, Milton
Most Outstanding Player: Shabazz Mohammad, Bishop Gorman
All-Tournament Team:
     Julius Randle, Prestonwood
     Shaquille Johnson, Milton
     Rosco Allen, Bishop Gorman
     Tevin Glass, Milton
     Jahlil Okofor, Whitney Young
     Nick Emery, Lone Peak
     Myles Hamilton, St. Edward
     Deion Taylor, St. Augustine
     Tameron Manning, Scott County
     Quentin Snider, Ballard

Individual Sportsmanship Award: T.J. Haws, Lone Peak
Individual Hustle Award: Mickey Mitchell, Prestonwood
Danny Defensive Award: Demetrius Morant, Bishop Gorman
Team Hustle Award: St. Augustine
Team Sportsmanship Award: Lone Peak

Leave a Reply